Sense Of Sound; Concert

“Music produces a kind of pleasure which human nature cannot do without”

– Confucius

Every person has a particular kind of music they listen to or a particular artist they prefer over the other. I too have such preferences but my music taste can vary or rather varies from Kishore Kumar to Ed Sheeran to Jay-Z. I enjoy most kinds of music but my preference will always be towards acoustic or pop music. On certain days, i could only listen to a particular kind of music but on others and most, any song will get me in a cheery mood. One the most extreme examples is on my phone, straight after ‘Niggas In Paris’ by Jay-Z and Kanye West, a meoldy of Kishore Kumar, Mukesh and Mohammed Rafi sung by Atif Aslam plays. My friends get really confused as to such a wide contrast but personally I really enjoy most types of music. Somehow Trance was never a genre that i coud get myself into; it actually gives me a massive headache and this becomes difficult as my brother mainly only listens to trance.

Recently I’ve been to two concerts, which I’ve thoroughly enjoyed. The experiences for both of them were so different but pleasant nonetheless. The first concert was ‘Arijit Singh’, although we missed most of it, the time we did spend there was fully utilized. The concert actually started at 5 but we ended up going only at 8.30. I had gone with a group of my really close friends but handling them was quite a task as they were mainly high. At one point of time, one of my friends actually collapsed on the ground and it was quite funny. She was conscious but absolutely had no idea what was going on around her. I think my friends made the concert quite entertaining, as their antics were too much to handle yet nothing extreme. They completely made fools out of themselves as they really had no idea as to what they were doing and how they were dancing, luckily no one there cared enough to react to them and we barely could get a hold on them. During one of his songs, one of my friends started to laugh uncontrollably and that was quite fun to watch as she was properly making a fool out of herself, trying to ‘photobomb’ random strangers pictures. It was a show within a show. I personally think at that point, Arijit Singh could not bother us and we were in our own zone, dancing and singing horribly might I add.

The second concert and probably one of the best days of my life was seeing Ed Sheeran perform live. I’ve followed him since 2011 and seeing him perform was absolutely the best experience, it felt unreal. We actually went quite early for the concert as i couldn’t have any more patience and my excitement was thoroughly getting the best of me. We were probably in the 15 the row from the stage but eventually moved behind as my friends started to feel a bit claustrophobic. The atmosphere of the entire show was so great and energetic. It was a whole new experience altogether. There was not a dull moment during the entire show; from the moment he got on the stage and even after he exited, the excitement level did not go down one bit. Everybody knew the words to his songs but stayed moderately quiet just to hear him sing and it got all to real when he started singing one of my favorite song “Photograph”, his entire album is brilliant itself so I think from the very get go, my inner fangirl came out. He sounds exactly the same live as he did on his record, which left all of us stunned. The visuals on the screen itself had another story to tell and impressed us to great extents. He himself was looping his track while making up the song on the stage; with the leg pedals he’d put his guitar solo on loop and would add different tracks to the song. In totality, he sang for an hour and a half but it sincerely got over really quickly; it felt like a blink of an eye and I really couldn’t get over it.

Ever since he announced that he’d be coming to Mumbai (which is back in November) I had been looking forward to that day but now that its over, I cannot get myself to accept it. Since the concert, I’ve only been listening to him on repeat and cannot get myself to listen to anything else other than him. When i listen to any song that he played at the concert, I can exactly pin point what I doing or thinking during it; for example, he played ‘I See Fire’ and I exactly know where I was standing, how I was swaying and singing in probably in a horrendous tone. I even can tell what visuals were playing on the screen and when they turned from him to a snippet of ‘The Hobbit : Desolation of Smaug’. Everyone who was present at the concert, paid all their attention to seeing him and listening to him. It was something I’ve never seen, not only were they physically present but also mentally. He himself was so interactive with the crowd and it genuinely seemed as he was enjoying the concert, which made everybody a bit crazier than usual. He even wore a kurta and put up the Indian flag on his microphone, which I think was a nice touch as it made everybody a little giddier.

Post his concert, everybody I know went into depression including me as we could not believe that it is over. I seriously reckon his concert was by far one of the greatest time of my life.

“That’s one of the great things about music. You can sing a song to 85,000 people and they’ll sing it back for 85,000 different reasons”

– Dave Grohl

 

Leave a Reply

